Untap

03 - Misty Rainforest

By: Richard Meshell

Hi everybody! Thank you for reading the first entry to Fetch-Shock-Blog, a series of articles dedicated to Magic the Gathering! In this blog, I will focus on several aspects of MtG including gameplay tips/evaluation, deckbuilding, constructed Modern, deck techs, and occasionally dabble in other subjects.

A bit of an introduction. The first Magic event I played in was the Gatecrash pre-release as part of a resolution to pick up a few new hobbies. I loosely knew what I was doing, but read a little about the game and pre-registered for Simic. I showed up for the noon pre-release on Saturday and had no idea how to build my deck. I went with what I though was good and was wiped by my Round 1 opponent.

After finding out I was new, he offered to take a look at my deck and pool, offering suggestions of cards I should/should not be playing (including some limited bombs that I had missed completely). I won my next round due to some of his suggestions.

I’ve played Magic since 2013, and Modern since the summer of ’14. Since then, I’ve made Modern my primary format. I also have taken conscious steps to learn how to become a better player (notetaking, gameplay review,etc).

There is a vast amount to learn in this game. I intend to document what I can, and hopefully help somebody out.

Leave a comment